top of page

Class Guest Speaker-Carolyn Clark

Following my previous post in regards to our guest speaker in my Social Media Strategies class, this is another post to cover our second guest of the week, Carolyn Clark. Carolyn is an alumna of my university who has had a plethora of experience in the world of media, broadcast and public relations. She currently serves as Director of Communication at Yahoo. As someone who currently works in the public relations industry and as held jobs pertaining to that field it was great to see/hear Carolyn share her personal experiences because it added some motivation to my current process of finding jobs in the public relations industry.

During her visit Carolyn discussed her experience as an undergrad student preparing for the real world. She advised us to soak up every opportunity we can as undergraduate students in order to gain experience in our industry thus helping us realize what we like and don't like about our fields. Carolyn emphasized the importance of learning as we go along, taking every opportunity as a learning experience and to not be afraid to ask questions. It's important to ask questions because it causes us to learn more and perfect our craft, as a soon to be college graduate that was comforting advice to hear because I know that I won't know everything I need to know when I get into the industry.

One thing that Carolyn said to me that stuck was "you're not stuck anywhere" this resonated with me because it gave me reassurance that I don't have to stay with the first job I get and I have time to get where I want to be, but I should never let my current circumstance determine my future career goals. I think that's important for every anxious soon to be college graduate to know. Carolyn was a great guest speaker to have, she shared important information for us to know when entering our fields and she is a great inspiration for following your dreams.


No tags yet.
Tag Cloud
Featured Review
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
bottom of page